Arson Defense: Oklahoma City, OK: Martino Law Firm
Any Degree of Arson in Oklahoma is considered a Felony Offense and can carry as much as 35 years in prison and/or a $25,000 fine depending upon whether or not the building or structure was inhabited at the time of the burning. Arson also applies to cars, trucks, boats, motorcycles, farm crops, pastures and other property. Title 21 O.S. 1401-1404
Most of the time, there are no direct eyewitnesses to a crime of this nature and as such, the DA's Office will rely on forensic evidence taken from the scene to try to prove the case. Because of this, you will often need to enlist the assistance of an expert witness to review the State's forensic evidence and refute it if possible. In most cases, the State must prove that a person "willfully and maliciously" set fire to the property which can prove to be difficult in a case with no eyewitnesses.
If you are charged with the crime of Arson, don't wait to hire experienced counsel to begin working on your behalf. I can begin working immediately on your behalf to obtain and review the evidence and contact expert witnesses to assist in your defense.